Turing Award to Weizmann Institute's Shafi Goldwasser

Published on Thursday, 14 March 2013 by Webmaster

Turing Award to Weizmann Institute's Shafi Goldwasser
ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, today announced that Prof. Shafi Goldwasser of the Weizmann Institute's Computer Science and Applied Mathematics Department, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Lab, will receive the ACM A.M. Turing Award. She receives the Award together with Prof. Silvio Micali of MIT "for transformative work that laid the complexity-theoretic foundations for the science of cryptography, and in the process pioneered new methods for efficient verification of mathematical proofs in complexity theory."

The ACM Turing Award, widely considered the highest prize in the field of computing (there is no Nobel Prize in the field) carries a $250,000 prize, with financial support provided by Intel Corporation and Google Inc. ACM will present the 2012 A.M. Turing Award at its annual Awards Banquet on June 15, 2013 in San Francisco, California.

Prof. Goldwasser and Prof. Micali have developed methods for secure transmissions that allow different parties to safely share all kinds of information over the Web without exposing it to prying eyes. In a 1982 paper, the two devised ways to apply methods of cryptography, or security protocols that hide information, to guard digital data. Basically, they came up with a scheme for embedding random encryptions to keep data secret.

The papers that Goldwasser and Micali have published together laid "the foundation for the security measures everywhere," said Omer Reingold, a principal researcher at Microsoft Research in Mountain View, Calif., and a member of the ACM.

Goldwasser is recipient of the National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award, she also won the ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award for outstanding young computer professional. She has twice won the Gödel Prize presented jointly by the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS). She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Science, the National Academy of Sciences, and the National Academy of Engineering. She was recognized by the ACM Council on Women in Computing (ACM-W) as the Athena Lecturer, and received the IEEE Piore Award and the Franklin Institute's Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive science.

A graduate of Carnegie Mellon University with a B.A. degree in mathematics, she received M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in computer science from the University of California, Berkeley. She joined the Weizmann Institute in 1993 as a full professor. She is the third woman to receive a Turing Award since the Awards' inception in 1966.

What Do you Think? Have your say!